JURY DUTY

…and not the Pauly Shore movie.

I wish!

I’m pretty sure this is officially the latest I’ve ever posted our regular Tuesday get-together, but I spent a much longer day than I’d bargained for serving on a jury.

I know, maybe I should have some “canned” posts ready for days like this, but I don’t. I prefer to live in the uncertain!

But seriously, maybe we can get a little learnin’ out of this experience.

I’ve been working hard since the beginning of 2017–and before that, truth be told, to re-prioritize my own writing, with a goal of writing at least 1000 words every day. I haven’t been perfect on that score, but I’ve definitely been writing more.

But in the final analysis, this is a self-imposed deadline. I take it seriously, but at the same time I also live in the world. A world that includes, every once in a while, jury duty. Your world may well include that, too. Or a medical emergency, or some kind of work something, or a vacation. Something can intrude on your writing goals–and your blogging goals–and blow up your day.

And now I’ve found out after having left this morning at 6:20 am to drop my wife off at work and get to the courthouse at 8:15 am then leaving the courthouse after 5:00 pm, picking her up almost an hour and a half later, and not getting home until just before 7:00 pm that I have to go back again tomorrow.

And maybe Thursday.

So yeah, jury duty blew up my work day, and now threatens to blow up my work week.

But I will live to fight another day, people, and so will you if you need to take a day off to handle other parts of your life, positive or negative.

Either way, next week we’ll get back to Lovecraft’s advice for horror (and fantasy) authors.

Unless O.J. Simpson has been up to no good in Bellevue, Washington.

Heaven forbid.

–Philip Athans

About Philip Athans

Philip Athans is the New York Times best-selling author of Annihilation and a dozen other books including The Guide to Writing Fantasy and Science Fiction, and Writing Monsters. His blog, Fantasy Author’s Handbook, (https://fantasyhandbook.wordpress.com/) is updated every Tuesday, and you can follow him on Twitter @PhilAthans.
This entry was posted in characters, freelance editing, freelance writing, freelancing, how to write fantasy, how to write fiction, how to write horror, how to write science fiction, intellectual property development, Publishing Business, transmedia, Writing, writing advice, writing fantasy, writing horror, writing science fiction, Writing Science Fiction & Fantasy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to JURY DUTY

  1. Think of it as research. I would love to be on a jury for the experience to enrich my writing. Alas, I will never be chosen because my husband is in law enforcement (the defense doesn’t want me), and I work in human services (the prosecution doesn’t want me). The one time I’ve been called, both sides rejected me before I could stand up when my name was called

Leave a Reply

