WHAT I’M THANKFUL FOR, 2016

For the first time in 108 years, my old hometown baseball team, the Chicago Cubs, won the World Series.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The rest of 2016 can go fuck itself.

—Philip Athans

About Philip Athans

Philip Athans is the New York Times best-selling author of Annihilation and a dozen other books including The Guide to Writing Fantasy and Science Fiction, and Writing Monsters. His blog, Fantasy Author’s Handbook, (https://fantasyhandbook.wordpress.com/) is updated every Tuesday, and you can follow him on Twitter @PhilAthans.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to WHAT I’M THANKFUL FOR, 2016

  1. Sean says:

    That’s about all I’m thankful for this year as well.
    Even though I think I’ve spent a grand total of three days of my life in Chicago and have never actually seen a Cubs game.

  2. Beverly Buchanan says:

    I’m thankful to have made it through chemo, surgery and radiation without, I hope, complaining too much! I am looking forward to 2017 and getting my strength back to finish my first novel.

    2016 can well and truly go fuck itself as far as I am concerned.

  3. Sean Durity says:

    That’s enough encouragement for me to unsubscribe. I hope you will reflect a bit more deeply on all the gifts that God has blessed you with. I understand that you don’t believe in God, and perhaps this has been a difficult year for you. However, I think, even in our deepest struggles, there is much for which to be thankful, if we stop to consider it. Life itself is a marvelous gift.

    • I’ll readily admit I was being glib there. It has not been a great year, but yes, of course there was lots more good in there than just the Cubs winning the World Series. Still, I get to have a bad day just like anybody else.

Leave a Reply

