ONE HOUR AND COUNTING

. . . before I have to head out to the Bellevue College North Campus to teach Week 5 of my eight-week Writing Fantasy and Science Fiction class.

I’m almost ready, almost caught up on all the stories from the students . . . almost, and then a quick scan of my to do list.

It’s Tuesday . . .

Fantasy Author’s Handbook.

Yikes!

I haven’t missed a Tuesday since this blog was first established, and damn it, I’m not missing this week. But I am a little frenzied, a little hurried, a little pressed for time. I’m also more than a little behind. I’ve had to appeal to a couple of clients for a bit more time on some projects, which I hate doing, and have weathered a crappy cold that really knocked me on my heels, and some time out to travel, and other things that have drawn my attention from work the past few weeks, but this is it, my friends. I gotta get back on track.

I have always been the Deadline Machine. I never missed a deadline. Ever.

That’s changed a bit, for the worse, since I’ve been out on my own and working for a few people who do the worst thing they can possibly do: tell me they need it “as soon as possible,” or some other non-specific period of time from now. I’ve always said I can do anything on a deadline, and by the end of this week, come hell or high water, that will be true again, but if you don’t give me a deadline your project will end up getting bounced back by the other projects that do have a deadline.

I’m cleaning up all of that, too, by November 1.

So if you’re waiting for something from me, fear not, I’ll be a smidge later rather than sacrifice quality, and if you’re ready to send me something else, I’ll be ready to start in a week or so . . . November 1 at the latest.

But as of this afternoon, this will have to do for a blog post.

Back to work for me.

Oh, and if you are looking to send some work my way, check out my newly redesigned and much easier to navigate web site at athansassociates.com.

Cheers!

 

—Philip Athans

 

About Philip Athans

Philip Athans is the New York Times best-selling author of Annihilation and a dozen other books including The Guide to Writing Fantasy and Science Fiction, and the recently-released How to Start Your Own Religion and Devils of the Endless Deep. His blog, Fantasy Author’s Handbook, (https://fantasyhandbook.wordpress.com/) is updated every Tuesday, and you can follow him on Twitter @PhilAthans.
This entry was posted in Books, E-Books, indie publishing, intellectual property development, POD, Publishing Business, RPG, Science Fiction & Fantasy Novels, SF and Fantasy Authors, transmedia, Writing, Writing Science Fiction & Fantasy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

