GETTING OUT THERE

I’ve been attending conventions since 1981, but didn’t start actually participating as a speaker until Gen Con 1996, where I was put on the spot to help run seminars as an employee of TSR. In the years since then, I’ve been to a jillion of these things (plus or minus a bazillion) and in the past few years, well, really since the release of The Guide to Writing Fantasy and Science Fiction, I’ve been going to more of them and speaking on the subject of writing and editing SF and fantasy, and writing and editing in general.

I love it, and will be doing it again, so I thought I’d take this week to let you know where to find me for the next few months.

First off, I will be at The Pacific Northwest Writers Association Conference this very Friday, July 26, 2013, here in Seattle.

CREATING A CAREER IN THE FANTASY AND SCIENCE FICTION GENRES

Presented by Philip Athans

Learn more about world-building and the importance of a strongly-motivated villain. Join former Wizards of the Coast senior managing editor and New York Times bestselling author Philip Athans for a spirited Q&A session for aspiring writers, with advice from his book, The Guide to Writing Fantasy & Science Fiction (Adams Media).

Then back to Writer’s Digest Conference West 2013, Saturday, September 28, 2013 in Los Angeles:

Extended Session: Writing Fantasy & Science Fiction with New York Times Best-selling Author Philip Athans

Philip Athans, Author/Editor/Creative Consultant, Athans & Associates

Description

Join former Wizards of the Coast senior managing editor and New York Times best-selling author Philip Athans for a spirited Q&A session for aspiring writers. Drawing on his years of experience as an editor, author, world-builder, and more, he’ll teach you:

The necessity of consistently-applied “rules” for your fantasy and SF worlds.

The vital importance of a strongly-motivated villain.

Valuable tips for creating a career in the fantasy and SF genres.

Insights into what editors and agents are looking for.

The keys to crafting a powerful, compelling story.

What elements enable some books to break free of genre norms to become pop culture phenomena like Game of Thrones and Ender’s Game. 

And only a week later, back local for the delightful Write on the Sound, Saturday, October 5, 2013 in Edmonds, Washington.

WRITING FANTASY & SCIENCE FICTION (Athans) – A spirited Q&A session for aspiring writers, with advice from his book, The Guide to Writing Fantasy & Science Fiction. Learn the necessity of consistently-applied “rules” for your fantasy and SF worlds, the vital importance of a strongly-motivated villain, as well as valuable tips for creating a career in the fantasy and SF genres.

Looking at all three of those on the same page . . . yup, I kinda have a regular thing that I do now, and even describe it the same way every time. But you know what’s different? The people attending! Their questions, comments, and insights make each of these identical in concept, but entirely different in content.

And if all goes well there will be more to come. In fact, I just sat down for a mid-year review of my personal and professional goals and one of the things I decided to concentrate on in the year ahead is to get to more conferences and conventions, farther afield than the Pacific Northwest and Southern California.

I’ll be looking for writer’s conferences and general SF/fantasy conventions in the South, Midwest, and Northeast. If you’re organizing an event like that, or know someone who is, let me know. Otherwise, I’ll be shooting emails around the country looking for fresh faces and new (to me, anyway) events.

I’ll be returning to Bellevue College for the fall term, too, so if you are local, keep an eye on their web site. I’m currently working through my Worldbuilding class and a new seven-week course called Editing Fiction.

I’ve recommended writer’s conferences and conventions to authors both new and established, and I’ll do that again: Get out there! Can’t fly to Seattle? Like I said, I’ll try to get to you, but in the meantime, there are conferences and conventions happening all over the world all the time. Check your local listings, and so what if I’m not there? I mean, I’m awesome and everything, but . . .

 

—Philip Athans

 

About Philip Athans

Philip Athans is the New York Times best-selling author of Annihilation and a dozen other books including The Guide to Writing Fantasy and Science Fiction, and the recently-released How to Start Your Own Religion and Devils of the Endless Deep. His blog, Fantasy Author’s Handbook, (https://fantasyhandbook.wordpress.com/) is updated every Tuesday, and you can follow him on Twitter @PhilAthans.
This entry was posted in Books, conventions, creative team, intellectual property development, Publishing Business, RPG, Science Fiction & Fantasy Novels, SF and Fantasy Authors, Writing, Writing Science Fiction & Fantasy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to GETTING OUT THERE

  1. Sean Durity says:

    I am looking forward to attending a writers conference “one day.” There are so many from which to choose.

  2. jakeescholl says:

    I hope to see you at Fandemonium here in Idaho someday. There are tons of Forgotten Realms fans that go. (Including me.🙂 )

Leave a Reply

