DIZES DAGER

If you’re like me, you woke up this morning and thought, I think it’s time for the world to finally see Dizes Dager.

But I alone have the power to make that happen.

A couple weeks ago I finally cleaned my garage, and in a box of my kids’ school papers my wife ran across a stack of my old books. Not dusty copies of Baldur’s Gate, mind you, but really old “books,” written when I was just a wee lad and somehow not included in the package that was given to one of my teachers, who lost them. There were a few, some from as late in life as seventh grade.

Dizes Dager is my favorite of the bunch, winning out even over Monster Stores and The $10,000,000 Man (who you will all agree, I’m sure, is $4,000,000 better than The $6,000,000 Man).

I’m not sure now if this was meant to be a comic book or something like the storyboard for a movie. I’m clearly credited as an animator, and characters from the cartoon Johnny Quest are also credited as actors, so . . . whatever that means.

I think what I like most about it, other than the obvious (it’s startling full-color art!), is that I have no idea what Dizes Dager means. What is a Dizes? Is Dager just Danger misspelled? Are the Dizes dangerous, or are they in danger?

Now, for the first time in maybe thirty-five years, you have a chance to help me figure it out.

Dizes Dager, the understated cover

It begins cleanly enough. . . .

Dizes Dager, Page 1

I hope you were reddy for how cool that was!

Dizes Dager, Page 2

It’s a Dizes! Ha!

Dizes Dager, Page 3

Holy smoke, I guess it isn’t latter after all!

Dizes Dager, Page 4

Boivios?

Okay.

Dizes Dager, the startling conclusion.

Humble beginnings are better than no beginnings at all.

Until next week, Boivios!

—Philip Athans

About Philip Athans

Philip Athans is the New York Times best-selling author of Annihilation and a dozen other books including The Guide to Writing Fantasy and Science Fiction, and the recently-released How to Start Your Own Religion and Devils of the Endless Deep. His blog, Fantasy Author’s Handbook, (https://fantasyhandbook.wordpress.com/) is updated every Tuesday, and you can follow him on Twitter @PhilAthans.
This entry was posted in Publishing Business, Science Fiction & Fantasy Novels, Science Fiction Story, Writing Science Fiction & Fantasy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to DIZES DAGER

  1. petty says:

    Oh, so beautiful and hilarious. Found a yarn-bound book of my youth recently. No words. It seemed to involve a man and horse falling into a world made of mud. Mud monsters, mud caverns, mud pits. Boivios!

Leave a Reply

